Our People

Wayne Rempel – Chief Executive Officer & President
Wayne@Kroekers.com
Wayne has worked at Kroeker Farms since 1988. He became the company’s first non-family CEO in June of 2002. Wayne is committed to industry involvement; currently he is a director on the Peak of the Market Board and is an active member of other committees including the Canadian Horticulture Council.

Grant Thiessen, C.M.A. – Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer
Grant@Kroekers.com
Grant has been responsible for the financial and investment activities of Kroeker Farms Limited since 1996. He provides leadership for the office administration staff.

Garry Friesen – Marketing Manager
Garry@Kroekers.com
Garry joined the sales team in November, 2008. In July, 2009, he was appointed Marketing Manager for Kroeker Farms. He is responsible for potato and onion sales,
The Potato Store and the Transport Division.

Ed Klassen – Human Resources Manager
Edwin@Kroekers.com
Ed started with Kroeker Farms in January, 2009, as Human Resources Manager. His focus is to care for employees and their needs, including hiring both full-time and seasonal employees, facilitating safety meetings and concerns as Health & Safety Coordinator, including Safe Farm Check Program and WCB. He is, also, in charge of temporary housing for our seasonal employees and publishing the monthly newsletter.

Frank Elias – Farm Manager
Frank@Kroekers.com
Frank has been with Kroekers since 2003. Prior to Kroekers he spent three years in Bolivia with MCC working on agricultural development. As farm manager he is responsible for onion, potato and grain production.

 

Harwin Bouwman – Business Development and Innovation

Harwin@Kroekers.com
Harwin joined Kroekers in 2011. Working closely with management, Harwin’s focus is facilitating business improvement by identifying and implementing solutions that leverage technology, information management, operational best-practices, and market opportunities.

Marvin J. Dyck, P.Ag – Agronomist, Storage Management & Quality Assurance
Marv@Kroekers.com
Marv has been with the company since 1992. He is part of the team making agronomic decisions and is our in-house expert on chip potatoes; everything from varieties and storage, to specific gravity and fry color. He coordinates our organic production and is also responsible for annual on-farm variety trials.

Richard – Almassippi Irrigation Farm Manager
Richard@Kroekers.com
Richard has been with Almassippi Farms, a division of Kroeker Farms since 2008. He became
Farm Manager in 2012. He is in charge of all field operations including storage.

Abe Wall – Grain Manager
Abe@Kroekers.com
Abe is a loyal employee who started at Kroekers in 1975 helping plant potatoes. Shortly thereafter he began seeding grain until 1990, when he became the Grain Division manager. He is responsible for all conventional and organic grain production.

Jakob Olfert – Onion Farm Manager
Jakob@Kroekers.com
Jacob has been with the company since 1999, starting as a key operator in the onion department. He served as the Raspberry Field Manager, and in 2009 was appointed Service Manager. In 2013 Jacob also took on managing the onion crew. Jacob and his hard working team are responsible for the production of Cooking onions, Red and Jumbo Yellow Spanish onions that are produced both commercially and organically.

John Nickel – Seed Farm Manager
JohnN@Kroekers.com
John worked with Kroekers Seed Farm for 6 years before he took on the management position in the spring of 2006. He has hands-on experience with maintenance, operation of planting & harvesting equipment, and seed potato storage. John and his team grow 1000 acres of seed potatoes, supplying seed and commercial growers. He works closely with Kevin Nickel to supply over 20 different varieties of quality seed to our customers.

John E. Wall – Potato Storage Manager
JohnE@Kroekers.com
Having operated various field equipment including the windrower, sprayer, water truck and harvester since 1980, John became storage manager in 2002, and does an outstanding job of storing potatoes for 11-12 months of the year. He also is responsible for the seed cutting on the commercial farms and the building and yard maintenance at Winkler.

Rick Rempel – Shop Manager
Rick@Kroekers.com
Rick is responsible for the crew at Greenside Shop. He joined us in the spring of 2006 and one of the first projects was to oversee construction of the newest storage shed on the Kimberly yard. From regular maintenance, to complicated repairs, and manufacturing of new innovations, the service the shop provides is important to all divisions within Kroekers.

Rod Wall – Boyne River Farm Manager
Rod@Kroekers.com

Rod joined Kroeker Farms in 2002. Rod is responsible for the Boyne River Farm near Carman, Manitoba where, in addition to the chipping and table potato production, creamer potatoes are produced. Rod works closely with Jake Peters and a hard working team to produce both conventional and organic potatoes.

Kevin Nickel – Seed Coordinator
Kevin@Kroekers.com
Kevin joined Kroeker Farms in 2007. He became the Seed Coordinator in 2012. He is in charge of all seed sales and purchases. He works closely with John Nickel, Marvin Wiebe and Richard Klassen to supply high quality seed potatoes.

Sheldon Neufeld – Table Potato Manager
Sheldon@Kroekers.com
Sheldon started at Kroeker Farms back in 2012. He was appointed Table Potato Manager in 2013. His responsibilities include all aspects of organic potato production pertaining to in-field operations. This includes planting, weed control, irrigation scheduling, scouting for pests, and harvesting.

Derek Unrau – “The Potato Store” Manager
Derek@Kroekers.com
Derek Joined Kroeker Farm in 2013. He runs The Potato Store including bringing in new/fresh fruits and vegetables. He also sells seed potatoes for local home gardens. He also runs a blog online.

Click here to view the Blog